Your crush uploaded her most beautiful picture as her Instagram Story. 

Or maybe a post.

And you can’t resist taking a screenshot.

But – wait! 

You wonder, “What if I take a screenshot and she gets a notification about it?”

That’s a possibility, correct?

Snapchat does it. 

When you take a screenshot on Snapchat, Snapchat instantly notifies the other user about it.

And you’re in trouble.

But – is it the same with Instagram?

Not sure?

Don’t worry!

To help you better understand, I’ve put together this blog post, where I’ll be shedding light on the following points:

Let’s have a look.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot Someone’s Story?

Doesn’t matter whose story you’re looking forward to screenshotting, Instagram will not notify the person who uploaded the story that you took a screenshot.

So, whether you’re looking forward to screenshotting your crush’s story or someone who you don’t want to know, you don’t need to worry about Instagram notifying them.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot Someone’s Post?

Doesn’t matter whose Instagram post you’re looking forward to screenshotting, Instagram won’t notify the person who uploaded the post that you took a screenshot. 

So, you can head over to the person’s profile without having any second thoughts and take a screenshot of their post straight away.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot Someone’s Reel?

Instagram reels are hot these days. Throughout the duration of the reel, if at any point you want to take a screenshot yet are worried that the person who uploaded the reel will get a notification, chill out! 

They won’t. 

Instagram doesn’t notify you when you screenshot someone’s reel.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot Someone’s Message?

The answer is both yes and no. If you are chatting with someone via Instagram Direct and if the vanish mode isn’t enabled, then you don’t need to worry about the person receiving a notification that you screenshotted the conversation.

However, if the vanish mode is enabled and if you take a screenshot, then you’ll be in trouble. So, if the vanish mode is enabled and the message has been sent under Vanish mode, then I’d advise you to not take a screenshot. And this is applicable to all kinds of messages like text messages, photos, and videos.

If Vanish Mode is Enabled, Does Instagram Notify When You
Screenshot Someone’s Message While in Airplane?

The answer is yes. If the vanish mode is enabled and if you turn on the airplane mode to take a screenshot, then as soon as you turn on your internet, the user will receive a notification about it. Whether you’re trying to screenshot a text message or photo or video, switching to airplane mode and taking a screenshot while the vanish mode is enabled isn’t a good idea.

How to Smartly Take a Screenshot or Video on Instagram Without Alerting the Other User About it in Vanish Mode?

Following are the three ways to smartly take a screenshot or video on Instagram without notifying the other user about it:

Switch to Web Browser

How to Smartly Take a Screenshot or Video on Instagram Without Alerting the Other User About it in Vanish Mode?

While you’re communicating with someone via Instagram Direct and if the vanish mode has been turned on, then if you want to smartly take a screenshot, then you can launch Instagram on your Desktop via browser and do it.

There you’ll see that all the messages sent in Vanish mode are visible. If you are a Windows user, you can use the Snipping Tool to take a screenshot. If you are a Mac user, then you can use the in-built function “Command + Shift + 3” or “Command + Shift + 4” to take a screenshot.

These messages will disappear when you reload Instagram Direct on your web browser. So, it’s advisable to take a screenshot before that.

Click a Picture or Video via Other Phone’s Camera

Another way is to click a picture or video of the conversation from another phone. It’s another smart way to smartly take a screenshot or video on Instagram without notifying the other user about it.

Turn on Screen Recording

Some phones have in-built screen recording features. Whereas some don’t. If you turn on screen recording and keep texting the other person – then it doesn’t matter if the vanish mode has been turned on, you’ll capture every single message or photo or video that the other person sends over in Vanish mode. And the best part is – they will not be notified that you’re recording via the screen recording feature.

If you don’t have an in-built screen recording feature, then you can download a third-party application for the same.

Conclusion

Instagram doesn’t really notify the other person that you have screenshotted their story, picture, or reels. At the same time, they will not know that you are taking a screenshot of the conversation unless the vanish mode is turned on.

So, it’s advisable to use one of the three methods I’ve described above if you want to take a screenshot while the vanish mode has been turned on.

I hope I was able to help you out.

Other Posts You May Like: