Wondering how to restrict someone on Instagram? Or maybe unrestrict them?

When you block someone, the person you’ve blocked will easily be able to see that you’ve blocked them. In case someone has blocked you, then you’ll see the “User Not Found” error message on Instagram while trying to access their profile.

But – what if you want to hide someone’s Instagram activity without blocking them? Well, the Instagram dev team has rolled out a new privacy-focused feature called “Restricted Accounts,” that’ll help you limit someone’s interactions with you on Instagram.

For example, when you restrict someone, you’ll have the option to approve or delete comments they leave on your post. At the same time, their chat will be moved to your Instagram Message Requests section – which means even if you see their message, they’ll not be able to see that you’ve seen their message.

And the best part is – you don’t need to block or unfollow them. 

Doesn’t that sound amazing?

The thing is – these days, we’re witnessing a massive spike in harassments and abuses in the form of comments as well as messages. And while you can’t really block everybody, you can take an action by restricting people’s accounts.

But how can you do that?

To help you learn how to restrict and unrestrict someone on Instagram, allow me to present the exact steps in front of you.

Throughout this blog post, we’ll learn:

What is Instagram’s Restricted Accounts Feature?

These days, we’re witnessing a staggering spike in harassing, abusive as well as annoying comments on Instagram. And if one or multiple of your followers are consistently leaving hate comments on your Instagram posts or reels, then you can restrict their account. This will help you limit unwanted interactions – as you’ll have the option to approve or deny their comments on your posts.

And the best part is – they’ll not know this – as, on their side, they’ll see that they have left their comment. At the same time, you’ll be moving their messages to the “Message Requests” section – which means they’ll not be able to see that you’ve seen their message.

So, if someone is annoying you, again and again, my advice is – restrict them straight away. But don’t always do that – when they cross a line, make sure that you block them straight away. 

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram

Instagram users can restrict someone by heading over to the Instagram profile of the person they’re looking forward to restricting, clicking on the three-vertical-dotted-line in the top-right corner and selecting the “Restrict” option.

Following are the exact steps you need to follow to restrict someone on Instagram:

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram

Step I – Head over to the profile of the person you’d like to restrict. For example, I want to restrict my business account “technometer.co” on Instagram. So, what I’ll do is head over to technometer.co’s profile.

Step II – Click on the three-vertical-dotted-line in the top-right corner of their Instagram profile. Now, you’ll see numerous options:

  • Report
  • Block
  • Restrict
  • Hide your story
  • Remove follower
  • Copy profile URL
  • Share this profile

Click on “Restrict” to restrict their profile on Instagram. Now, Instagram will ask you for confirmation “Are you having a problem with {Username}?”

Select “Restrict account” to confirm.

NOTE – The other person will not know that you have restricted them. That’s the beauty of Instagram’s Restricted Accounts feature.

Now, if you have restricted someone on Instagram and would like to unrestrict them, look no further.

How to Unrestrict Someone on Instagram

To unrestrict someone who you restricted on Instagram, head over to their profile, click on the three-vertical-dotted line in the top-right corner, and click on “Unrestrict.”

Follow these exact steps to learn how to unrestrict someone on Instagram: 

How to Unrestrict Someone on Instagram
  • Step I – Head over to the Instagram profile of the person who you restricted previously.
  • Step II – Click on the three-vertical-dotted-line in the top-right corner.
  • Step III – If you have restricted their profile, you’ll see an option to unrestrict their account. Click on “Unrestrict” to unrestrict their account.

How to Access the List of People You’ve Restricted on Instagram

Now, at some point in time, in the near future, you may not remember who you restricted and who you didn’t. What if you want to unrestrict all people or a few of them on Instagram yet you don’t know who you restricted in the past.

Don’t worry, you can access the list of people you restricted on Instagram with ease. Allow me to show you how.

Follow these exact steps to see the people you restricted on Instagram:

  • Step I – Head over to your Instagram profile.
  • Step II – In the top-right corner of your Instagram profile, click on the hamburger menu or the three vertical line. Click on “Settings.” Under Instagram Settings, click on “Privacy.”
Head over to Instagram Privacy
  • Step III – Under Privacy, scroll down to find “Restricted Accounts.” Upon clicking on “Restricted Accounts,” you’ll be able to see the list of people you’ve restricted on Instagram. And not just see it – you’ll be able to unrestrict them from right here.
How to Access the List of People You’ve Restricted on Instagram

As simple as that!

Conclusion

People are really affected by other peoples’ opinions on Instagram. And that’s a serious problem. To help protect people’s mental health, Instagram has rolled out the “Restricted Accounts” feature.

And if you see someone consistently annoying or harassing you, I’d advise you to hit the restrict button on them straight away.

READ MORE: